About EMO

The membership of the Thunder Bay Emergency Measures Organization consists of the Township of Conmee, Township of Dorion, Township of Gillies,  Municipality of Greenstone, Municipality of Neebing, Township of Nipigon, Township of O’Connor, Township of Red Rock, and the Township of Schreiber.

The Thunder Bay Emergency Measures Organization provides leadership and information to the municipalities to assist them in planning for emergencies and to provide resources when an emergency occurs. Assistance is offered with evacuations, evacuation centres, media communications, Provincial liaison,  physical resources such as barricades for roads or cots for evacuation centres, and other necessary equipment when an emergency happens. Although the EMO does not have the resources itself, it does provide assistance with locating what is needed. A mobile command centre is also available to the membership.